Swatch: MAC Flat Out Fabulous

Matte lipsticks are a bit of a passion of mine, I usually only wear matte finishes and on the days that I do not, I usually dust a touch of translucent powder over the top to give the product a matte finish. I hate to have sticky lips, working with nail dust, sticky lipstick is just, well gross. I also feel that matte products just last a whole lot better and require much less maintenance. I also have a bit of a thing for MAC. Not particularly because they are the best, there are plenty of high and low end brands now that surpass MAC quality, but it is the one brand that I coveted growing up, that I could never afford, and now I just have to have it when possible.

Product Specifics:

Brand: MAC

Product: Retro Matte Lipstick

Full Size Price: $17.00

Full Size Product Packaging: Oval lipstick tube with slight metallic finish and matte silver logo detailing

Full Size Net Weight: 3 grams

Photo 27.07.15, 12.50.14

For me there is something about the packaging. It is not overly special or glamorous, but it has a classy feel. I am not embarrassed to pull this out of my makeup purse, the packaging is understated and simple.
Photo 27.07.15, 12.51.49

This one I have to swatch today is “Flat Out Fabulous” from the Retro Matte Collection. MAC finishes are a mystery in themselves, but this one is fairly straight forward.Photo 27.07.15, 12.53.43

“Flat Out Fabulous” is a deep pink with blue undertones which will compliment the paler complexion perfectly. Initially I thought that this was more of a purple shade, but on application it is definitely a pink hue. I have a few of the Retro Matte collection and I find on the whole the formula is pleasant to work with. The product applies smoothly with no tugging and pigmentation is strong yet even.
Photo 27.07.15, 13.41.27

 

I get around 4-5 hours wear time from the MAC Retro Matte Collection which is pretty good. Not the best I have tried but there is an insanely large choice of colours. It can be slightly drying if you wear it for a few days, so keep a lip balm handy for night times to refresh your lips.

Photo 11.08.15, 15.28.13

Comments

  1. plus+beauty27 says:

    This shade is so gorgeous!! ❤ ❤ xo

  2. Love this shade, going straight on my wish list x

  3. Wow, it’s such a beautiful color! Great blog, I’m following you 🙂 xo

  4. Love this!!

  5. that colour is beautiful 😍 xo

  6. This is such a beautiful colour! wow! I so need this!

Leave a Reply

